Reminder from Illinois Department of Insurance Compliance Division
The Insurance Compliance Division of the Department of Insurance is responsible for enforcing the mandatory insurance provisions of the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Act.
As a reminder, if an employer has one employee, even a part-time employee, the employer must provide workers’ compensation insurance. This includes family members of the owner(s) who are employed by the company. Sole proprietors, corporate officers, business partners and members of limited liability companies may elect to come under the Act, or they may choose not (except for employers in extra-hazardous occupations, such as construction and trucking).
An employer that knowingly and willfully fails to provide workers’ compensation insurance may be fined up to $500 for every day of non-compliance, with a minimum fine of $10,000. Additionally, corporate officers who are found to have negligently failed to provide insurance are guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. For more information, please call 312-814-6611 or visit www.iwcc.il.gov.